This page is EnglishGo to Japanese page

Go to Minoru Miki Home Pge Minoru Miki Chamber Music Work list

  • Including solo pieces
  • Not including works which mainly played by Japanese instruments
  • When work title is specified by blue alphabets and underline, you can reach more precise data by click it

Three Festal Ballads (1954)
[Memories of the Fair, "Danjiri"at Night, A Puppet Show]
Instrumentation: pf solo (Alt.version: 4 koto)
Duration: 15' (4'45"+4'30"+5'00")
Publisher: Zenon Music Publisher

Osabai (1955)
Instrumentation: fl,ob, cl, 2 bn, 2 hn, tpt, 2 tbn, 2 perc
Duration: 14'

Summer Poem (1958)
[Sanobori, Urabon, Tanabata, Sassei]
Instrumentation: pf solo (Alt.version: shaku, 3 20-koto, b-koto)
Duration: 13' (3'00"+2'40"+3'55"+3'00")
Publisher: Zen-on Music

Sextet for Wind Instruments and Piano (1965)
[1st movement, 2nd movement, 3rd movement]
Instrumentation: fl, ob, cl. bn. hn. pf
Duration: 18' (7'15", 4'30", 7'29")

Time for Marimba (1968)
Insrtumentation: marimba solo
Publisher: Ongaku no Tomo Sha

Hakuyoh (1973)
Instrumentation: vn, 21-koto
Duration: 25'-28'

Hanako, Taro, Ha Ta Ha Ta - piano pieces for children (1973)
Duration: 2' each

Hinaburi (1975)
Instrumentation: fl(or shaku), 21-koto
Duration: 10'

"Ai" for Shakuhachi and Strings (1978)
Duration: 6'-8'

Tidal Sounds (1980)
Instrumentation: vc, 21-koto (Alt. version: vc, hp)
Duration: 7'30"

Suite "Jodo" (1980)
Poem:Shoko Ema
Voices: Mix-chor
Instrumntation: fl, cl, hn, perc, vn, va, vc, 21-koto, B-koto
Duration: 15'

Autumn Fantasy (1980)
[Prologue, autumn Fantasy]
Instrumentation: shaku, 21-koko(Alt. version: fl or vn, pf or hp)
Duration: 14'30"(5'00"+8'30")
Publisher: NORSK MUSIKFORLAG A/S (fl, pf version)

Yui I (1982)
Instrumentation: 2 sho, pf
Duration: 14'

Ode to Forest (second part of "Yui II") (1983)
Instrumentation: vc, 21-koto (Alt. version: vc, pf)
Duration: 11'

Marimba Spiritual (1984)
[Tama-shizume, Tama-furi]
Instrumentation: mar, 3 perc
Duration: 15' (6'40"+8'20")
Publisher: Zen-On Music Co., Ltd. (sub publisher: NORSK MUSIKFORLAG, Oslo)

Yui III "Flowers and Water" (1985)
Instrumentation: shaku, 21-koto, F-shami, str-quartet, hp
Duration: 13'

Trio for Violin, cello and piano (1986)
Duration: 22' (8'30"+2'40"+5'20"+4'40")

Sohmon III (1988)
Text: Minoru Miki and quotes from Classics
Voice: sop
Instrumentation: mar, pf
Publisher: JFC(The Japan Federation of Composers INC)

Organ Nirvana (1988)
Instrumentaion: pipe organ solo
Duration: 9'
NB: in 2003 add an Introduction (duration: 6')

String Quartet (1989)
Duration: 18'~21' (1st movement = 9'~12', 2nd movement = 9')
Publisher: Ongaku no Tomo Sha

SPRING for Strings (1996)
Instrumentation: 5,5,3,3,1
Publisher: Norsk Nusikforlag

Clarinet Spring (1996)
[NB]Clarinet ensemble version of "SPRING for Strings"

Requiem 99 - Concerto for Marimba and Japanese instruments (1998)
Duration: 20~23min(with cadenza).
[NB] Marimba version of "Concerto Requiem"(1981). Solo part is alternative.

Fantasy of Flowers - for flute and piano (2001)
Duration: 6.5'
Publisher: BCA

East Ark (2001)
1)Fantasy on Rice Fields, 2)Pipa Nocturne, 3)Dancing along the Shore, 4)Enka, 5)Ancient War
Instrumentation: pipa, violin, cello, marimba-percussion
Duration: 28'

Heian Music-scope (2002) after the opera "The Tale of Genji"
[Introduction, A forbidden Love, A Passage of Time, Friends in Fun, Longing for a Eternal Image, Pipa Interlude-Seaside Joy]
Instrumentation: Quartet version = pipa, violin, cello, piano
Trio version = pipa, shak, koto
Duration: 20'30"

You can see plane list of all works including publishers.
You can buy scores through URLs below:

Zen-on Music Publisher
Ongaku No Tomo Sha
Kawai Shuppan

Above URLs have only Japanese pages.

When you want to order scores in English, you can buy them through YUI Shuppan.
Also concerning pieces which don't published above publishers, you can order scores to YUI Shuppan.
YUI Shuppan will supply you copies from original scores etc.
E-mail address of YUI Shuppan:

Minoru Miki